The Goldfish Boy 🐠🕵️‍♂️🧡

  • Author: Lisa Thompson
  • First Published: 2017
  • ISBN: 9781407170992
  • Suitable for: 9+

Star Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Synopsis: Matthew likes sparkling clean surfaces, staying safe in his bedroom and making notes about his neighbours. He hates germs, going outside and feeling like a disappointment to his mum and dad.
When a toddler next door goes missing, Matthew finds himself in the centre of the mystery. Every one of his neighbours is a suspect – and Matthew is the key to finding out what happened, even as his own secrets begin to unravel.
A story about finding friendship when you’re lonely – and hope when all you feel is fear.


“I think we could be good friends if you just saw me for the person I am, not the person you think I am.”

Lisa Thompson

My Review: Lisa Thompson writes about the mental health topic of OCD so carefully, thoughtfully and effectively. She captures what it is like living through Matthew’s eyes and world so eloquently, leaving the reader contemplating the topic long after finishing the book. Matthew’s mental and moral battle as to whether to leave his bedroom and expose himself to the germs, or help the police to find the missing toddler, encourages us to want Matthew desperately to find his way; to battle his mental health issues and make friends. As an adult, I love to read crime-fiction novels, so the mystery aspect of this story I thought was excellent! I am not the type of person who tries to guess what is going to happen when reading a book or watching a film and I dislike spoilers, so I was eagerly turning the pages to find out what happens next. Reading Matthew’s journey battling his own mental health whilst helping the police, mending family relationships and finding new friendships makes this book a pleasure to read and really tugs at the heart-strings. It will stay with me for a long time. Thompson’s newest release, ‘The Boy Who Fooled the World’ is on my TBR pile and I will add her other books too!

You can buy the book here.


If you loved reading Matthew’s story, then you will love reading these character’s stories:


Click on the links below to see my other Book Reviews!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started